Place & Arrival

This year the undjetzt?! conference will be hosted again by the Gemeinschaft Freien Feldlage. undjetzt?! oldies will be familiar with this place, because we are allowed to pitch our tents there for the third time this year. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the summer in the beautiful Harz mountains!
You can get a first impression of winter in the undjetzt?! Trailer from 2017 below (german).

Community Freie Feldlage Harzgerode

The community “Freie Feldlage” is still in the pioneer and start-up phase. On a cooperative basis, communal living, life and work are to be combined.

Our vision for the Freie Feldlage: People of different ages live, learn, work and live together in shared apartments and yet in a large community. They meet peacefully, supportively and in solidarity and respect each other in the diversity of their life plans and lifestyles. They treat the earth as a living space with care and responsibility, protecting and caring for it. New and innovative ideas are thought, tested and lived in the common need to act in a meaningful and sustainable way.

Arrival

Harzgerode is located in the eastern Harz Mountains in Saxony-Anhalt and is easily accessible via the A36 in the north. Quedlinburg is a reference city and is located about 20km north of Harzgerode. In addition, the A38 runs along in the south between Göttingen and Leipzig and passes Sangerhausen, Berga and Nordhausen. From these places you can also easily get the ~40km uphill to Harzgerode. The conference will be held in the former Children’s Lung Clinic about 2km outside of town.

A precise description of the location of the clinic can be found on the website of our venue: http://freiefeldlage.de/anreise.

Unfortunately, Harzgerode is not well connected to the long-distance public transportation network. Therefore, it is a good idea to reach the surrounding towns and change there to the public bus or the narrow-gauge railroad. When you arrive in Hargerode at the train station you just have to follow the “undjetzt?!” signs.

Cities where you can change to local transport are Quedlinburg, Aschersleben, Sangerhausen, Berga and Nordhausen. You can reach all these places by train. With meinfernbus.de and flixbus.de you can also get to all the cities mentioned, except for Berga.

From Quedlinburg, and more rarely from Aschersleben, buses go directly to Harzgerode. Both cities are located north of Harzgerode. If you come from the south, you can take a bus from Sangerhausen (via Wippra) or also Berga (via Stolberg or Schwenda). You can get reliable information about connections at insa.de. With common country tickets (Schönes-Wochenende, Quer-durchs-Land, Sachsen-Anhalt/Thüringen/Sachsen, etc.) you can also take buses.

The Harz narrow-gauge railroad is a tourist experience. The picturesque steam locomotive crawls slowly from Quedlinburg or Nordhausen to Harzgerode. Here you can buy the route ticket. The ticket must be purchased separately and is rather expensive.

The Selke Valley Cycle Path, which avoids the hilly landscape, is highly recommended. Following the Selke, this leads almost directly past the sanatorium. Near Mägdesprung you should be able to follow the “undjetzt?!” signs(, which lead you the last 2km up the hill).

In Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia, it is also possible to take bicycles on the train without any problems, so you can also get there easily by public transport (e.g. Aschersleben, Falkenstein, Meisdorf) before you can enjoy the Harz at your own pace.

To undjetzt?! you can also walk comfortably! Trains and long-distance buses stop only ~20km north and ~40km south of Harzgerode, respectively. This corresponds to a day trip or even a two-day trip to the conference location. Or you can hike from Meisdorf along the above mentioned Selketalradweg, about 15km. Of course, the most fun is to do it together. We are happy to help you with networking.

Hitchhiking you can get to the conference from all points of the compass quite easily. Some things have proven useful so far:

* Start early enough in the day or plan an overnight stay for longer distances, as there are fewer cars on the country roads in the Harz at night.

* coming from the south you will get along well via several highways:
– A71 to Sangerhausen
– A7 to the junction of the A7 and A38 before Göttingen, from where you can take the A38 to Berga or Sangerhausen.
– A9 to the junction with the A38 and then on the A38 to Berga or Sangerhausen.
– When you are let out at Sangerhausen Süd (Nr 16) you will find an Araltankstelle or a McDonalds where you can be let out. From Sangerhausen you drive over the country roads in the direction of Wippra and from there in the direction of Harzhochstraße B242 & Harzgerode (! could still be closed…).
– If you get off at the exit Berga: Immediately after the exit there is a gas station where people can drop you off well and easily find new cars coming from Berga via the country roads towards Schwenda and then Harzgerode.

* from the north:
– Coming from the A7, shortly after Bockenem, the Autohof Rhüden is very convenient to get from there to the B82 direction Goslar and from there the A36 to Quedlinburg is a good reference point.
– Coming from the A2 you can take exit 63 and 64 to the Landstraße 245 in the direction of Halberstadt.
– Coming from the A14 it is possible to walk from the parking lot at Beesen-Laublingen (between exit 11 and 12) to Beesen-Laublingen and from there hitchhike to Alsleben and take the 242 to Harzgerode. Or stay on the A14 until Bernburg and then change to the A36 until Quedlinburg.
– from Aschersleben you come from the 185 to Harzgerode
– from Quedlinburg it is not far…

* most people who are traveling in the Harz mountains know their way around and can help you. Some of them will surely drive a little loop so that you arrive at a good point or even directly at the site. The closer you get to Harzgerode, you can ask people to take you to the “Ehemalige Kinder-Lungenklinik”, where the conference will take place. For the description to the clinic, look again under the heading “Arrival by car”.

* Here you will find an overview of the German highway network and rest stops: http://www.autobahnatlasonline.de/AutobahnkarteMitAS.pdf

* Trust your gut feeling

* Even more info about hitchhiking and where you can best start: http://hitchwiki.org/de/Hauptseite

We wish you a lucky thumb and many exciting encounters and conversations!

If hitchhiking is all still pretty new to you, here’s first so very basic why hitchhiking is absolutely awesome:

It’s ultra sustainable (the cars drive anyway, and the extra fuel consumption is barely measurable).
It’s fun because it’s a new adventure every time and something special always happens.
You get to know nice people (quote hitchwiki.org: “The good thing about hitchhiking is that the assholes drive right on by”).
It is free of charge
It is completely flexible in time
It’s faster than some other means of transportation (e.g. long distance bus) and it’s even possible to hitchhike with ships, trains and planes!

Even if you have never hitchhiked before, that is no reason not to participate in the undjetzt? hitchhiking party. Because hitchhiking is easy as pie! If you still need some inspiration, here are a few tips from the “pros”:

To find good starting points for hitchhiking out of cities (gas stations near the highway, or places on the on-ramp where you can easily stand and cars can stop), search hitchwiki.org. Just type in the name of the city you want to start in at the top right, and the wiki will tell you the best place to start.
Here is a summary of a few tips for beginners: http://hitchwiki.org/de/Der_erste_Trip.

Since hitchhiking in a team is of course much more fun than hitchhiking alone, you can network with other participants beforehand and hitchhike to the conference together. We will send out a list with contact details soon.

Ort & Anreise

Die undjetzt?!-Konferenz ist dieses Jahr wieder zu Gast bei der Gemeinschaft Freien Feldlage. undjetzt?!-Oldies wird dieser Ort ein Begriff sein, denn wir dürfen dort dieses Jahr bereits zum dritten Mal unsere Zelte aufschlagen. Wir freuen uns schon sehr darauf, euch im Sommer im wunderschönen Harz begrüßen zu dürfen!
Einen ersten Wintereindruck bekommt ihr im undjetzt?! Trailer von 2017 unten.

Gemeinschaft Freie Feldlage

Die Lebensgemeinschaft Freie Feldlage befindet sich gerade noch in der Pioneer und Aufbauphase. Auf genossenschaftlicher Basis soll gemeinschaftliches Wohnen, Leben und Arbeiten miteinander verbunden werden.

Unsere Vision für die Freie Feldlage: Menschen unterschiedlichen Alters leben, lernen, arbeiten und wohnen in WGs und dennoch in einer großen Gemeinschaft zusammen. Sie begegnen sich friedlich, unterstützend und solidarisch und respektieren einander in der Vielfalt ihrer Lebensentwürfe und Lebensweisen. Achtsam und verantwortungsbewusst gehen sie mit dem Lebensraum Erde um, schützen und pflegen ihn. Es wird neu und Neues gedacht, erprobt und gelebt in dem gemeinsamen Bedürfnis sinnvoll und nachhaltig zu handeln.

Anreise

Harzgerode liegt im östlichen Harz in Sachsen-Anhalts und ist gut erreichbar über die A36 im Norden. Quedlinburg ist Bezugsstadt und liegt ca. 20km nördlich von Harzgerode. Außerdem führt im Süden die A38 zwischen Göttingen und Leipzig entlang und führt an Sangerhausen, Berga und Nordhausen vorbei. Von diesen Orten kommt man auch gut die ~40km bergauf nach Harzgerode. Die Konferenz findet in der ehemaligen Kinder-Lungenklinik etwa 2km außerhalb des Ortes statt. 

Eine präzise Beschreibung der Lage der Heilstätte findet ihr auf der Webseite unseres Veranstaltungsortes: http://freiefeldlage.de/anreise

Leider ist Harzgerode nicht gut an das öffentliche Fernverkehrsnetz angeschlossen. Es bietet sich daher an, die umliegenden Städte zu erreichen und dort in den Linienbus oder die Schmalspurbahn umzusteigen. Wenn ihr in Hargerode am Bahnhof angekommen seid müsst ihr nur den „undjetzt?!“-Schildern folgen.

Städte, in denen man in den lokalen Nahverkehr umsteigen kann, wären Quedlinburg, Aschersleben, Sangerhausen, Berga und Nordhausen. Mit dem Zug erreicht man all diese Orte. Mit meinfernbus.de und flixbus.de kommt man ebenfalls, bis auf Berga, in alle genannten Städte.

Von Quedlinburg, seltener auch von Aschersleben aus fahren Busse direkt nach Harzgerode. Beide Städte liegen nördlich von Harzgerode. Wer aus dem Süden kommt, kann mit dem Bus von Sangerhausen (über Wippra) oder auch Berga (über Stolberg oder Schwenda) anreisen. Zuverlässigste Informationen über Verbindungen kann man auf insa.de bekommen. Mit gängigen Ländertickets (Schönes-Wochenende, Quer-durchs-Land, Sachsen-Anhalt/Thüringen/Sachsen, etc.) kann man auch Busse fahren.

Die Harzer Schmalspurbahn ist ein Tourismuserlebnis. Die malerische Dampflokomotive kriecht von Quedlinburg oder Nordhausen nur langsam nach Harzgerode. Hier gibt es die Streckennetzkarte. Das Ticket  muss gesondert gekauft werden und ist eher teuer.

Sehr empfehlenswert ist der Selketalradweg, der die hügelige Landschaft meidet. Der Selke folgend, führt dieser fast direkt an der Heilstätte vorbei. In der Nähe von Mägdesprung solltet ihr dann den “undjetzt?!”-Schildern folgen können(, die euch die letzten 2km den Berg hoch führen).

In Sachsen-Anhalt und Thüringen ist die Fahrradmitnahme im Zug auch ohne Probleme möglich, sodass man auch mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln gut in die Nähe anreisen kann (z. B. Aschersleben, Falkenstein, Meisdorf), bevor man den Harz im eigenen Tempo genießen kann.

Zur undjetzt?! kann man auch gemütlich wandern! Züge und Fernbusse halten nur ~20km nördlich beziehungsweise ~40km südlich von Harzgerode. Das entspricht einer Tagestour oder auch einer Zweitagestour zum Konferenzort. Oder ihr wandert von Meisdorf aus den oben genannten Selketalradweg entlang, ca. 15 km. Am meisten Spaß macht das natürlich gemeinsam. Wir helfen euch gern beim Vernetzen.

Trampend kommst du aus allen Himmelsrichtungen ganz gut zur Konferenz. Einige Dinge haben sich bisher als nützlich erwiesen:

* Startet früh genug am Tag oder plant bei weiteren Strecken eine Übernachtung ein, da bei Nacht weniger Autos auf den Landstraßen im Harz unterwegs sind

* aus Richtung Süden kommt ihr über mehrere Autobahnen gut voran:
– A71 bis Sangerhausen
– A7 bis zum Knotenpunkt von der A7 und A38 vor Göttingen, von wo aus ihr auf der A38 bis Berga oder Sangerhausen kommt
– A9 bis zum Kreuz mit der A38 und dann auf der A38 weiter bis Berga oder Sangerhausen

-Wenn ihr Sangerhausen Süd (Nr 16) rausgelassen werdet, findet ihr eine Araltankstelle oder einen McDonalds an dem ihr rausgelassen werden könnt. Von Sangerhausen aus fahrt ihr über die Landstraßen Richtung Wippra und von dort Richtung Harzhochstraße B242 & Harzgerode (! könnte noch gesperrt sein…)

– Wenn ihr bei der Ausfahrt Berga aussteigt: Direkt nach der Ausfahrt gibt es eine Tankstelle, an der euch Menschen gut absetzten können und leicht neue Autos zu finden sind, die von Berga aus über die Landstraßen Richtung Schwenda und dann Richtung Harzgerode fahren.

* aus Richtung Norden:
– Von der A7 kommend, kurz nach Bockenem, ist der Autohof Rhüden sehr praktisch, um von dort auf die B82 Richtung Goslar zu kommen und von dort ist die A36 bis Quedlinburg ein guter Bezugspunkt

-Von der A2 kommend könnt ihr bei den Ausfahrten 63 und 64 auf die Landstraße 245 Richtung Halberstadt fahren

-Von der A14 kommend ist es von dem Parkplatz bei Beesen-Laublingen (Zwischen Ausfahrt 11 und 12) möglich nach Beesen-Laublingen zu laufen und von dort nach Alsleben zu trampen und auf der 242 nach Harzgerode zu kommen. Oder noch bis Bernburg auf der A14 zu bleiben, um dann auf die A36 zu wechseln bis Quedlinburg.

– von Aschersleben aus kommt ihr von der 185 nach Harzgerode
– von Quedlinburg ist es nicht mehr weit…

* die meisten Menschen, die im Harz unterwegs sind, kennen sich grob aus und können euch weiterhelfen, einige fahren sicherlich auch eine kleine Schleife, damit ihr an einem guten Punkt oder sogar direkt auf dem Gelände ankommt. Je näher ihr Harzgerode kommt, könnt ihr die Menschen fragen euch zur der „Ehemaligen Kinder-Lungenklinik“ zu bringen, dort findet die Konferenz statt. Für die Beschreibung zu der Klinik, schau nochmal unter der Rubrik „Anreise mit Auto“ nach.

* Hier findet ihr eine Übersicht des deutschen Autobahnnetzes und der Raststätten: http://www.autobahnatlasonline.de/AutobahnkarteMitAS.pdf

* Vertraue auf dein Bauchgefühl

* Noch mehr Infos zum Trampen und wo ihr am besten starten könnt: http://hitchwiki.org/de/Hauptseite

Wir wünschen euch einen glückreichen Daumen und viele spannende Begegnungen und Gespräche!

Wenn Trampen für euch alles noch recht neu ist, hier erst mal so ganz grundsätzlich, warum Trampen absolut super ist:

  • Es ist uuultra nachhaltig (die Autos fahren ja sowieso, und der Sprit-Mehrverbrauch ist kaum messbar).
  • Es macht Spaß weil es jedes Mal ein neues Abenteuer ist und eigentlich immer etwas Besonderes passiert
  • Mensch lernt nette Leute kennen (Zitat hitchwiki.org: „The good thing about hitchhiking is that the assholes drive right on by”)
  • Es ist kostenlos
  • Es ist zeitlich vollkommen flexibel
  • Es ist schneller als manch andere Transportmittel (z.B. mit dem Fernbus) und es ist sogar möglich mit Schiffen, Zügen und Flugzeugen zu trampen!

Auch wenn du noch nie vorher per Anhalter gefahren bist, ist das kein Grund nicht an der undjetzt?! Trampsause teilzunehmen. Denn: Trampen ist kinderleicht! Falls ihr noch etwas Inspiration braucht, gibt es hier noch ein paar Tipps von “Profis”:

  • Um gute Ausgangspunkte zum raustrampen aus Städten zu finden (Tankstellen in Autobahnnähe, oder Stellen an der Auffahrt, wo du dich gut  hinstellen kannst und Autos anhalten können), eignet sich die Suche auf hitchwiki.org. Einfach oben rechts den Namen der Stadt eingeben, in der du starten möchtest, und das Wiki verrät dir, wo du am besten startest.
  • Hier gibt es ein paar Einsteigertipps zusammengefasst: http://hitchwiki.org/de/Der_erste_Trip

Da Trampen im Team natürlich noch viel mehr Spaß macht als alleine, könnt ihr euch vorher mit anderen Teilnehmenden vernetzen und zusammen zur Konferenz trampen. Dafür schicken wir demnächst eine Liste mit Kontaktdaten rum.